Wheaton Arts and Cultural Center – great day trip

I think I am technically supposed to blog about glass beads, but this post is about the “glass” part of that!! If you have a chance, schedule a visit to the Wheaton Arts and Cultural Center in Millville NJ. You can read all about it at www.wheatonarts.org I was just there, and it reminded me what a terrific spot it is. The historic glass collection is focussed on NJ and is beautifully displayed. The gift shops are lovely, and this time of year they have a wonderful Christmas shop. Although the high end of what they sell in glass is pricey, they have plenty of affordable stuff, even some glass BEADS! Best of all, you can make a reservation to make a paperweight at the furnace, which is done by appointment only. My husband did it, took about 40 minutes, and then they mail it to you when it is cool. I can believe how beautiful and professional it looks, you could give it as a gift or just treasure it yourself, and he reports it was a lot of fun. Check out the website for more info. I hope everyone is working hard on holiday gifts (I haven’t started, but I should……) Jeri

2 Responses to “Wheaton Arts and Cultural Center – great day trip”

  1. Janet Peterson Says:

    Just wanted to thank you for the kind words about your WheatonArts experience. We certainly hope you tell your family and friends about us and that you will visit us again. Not only do we offer the Make Your Own Paperweight experience, we also offer a Make Your Own Bead or Blow A Vessel or Vase Form experiences. Just call 800-998-4552, extension 139, to schedule an appointment.

    Thanks again.

  2. Nancy Krull Says:

    After going to WheatonArts about a year ago for a festival day, I returned this past December and did both the Make Your Own Paperweight and Blow a Vessel experiences and took the four hour Lampworking Class (I make my own polymer clay beads and thought that glass would be a cool medium to try).
    I was very happy with the paperweight and bowl that I made (with help of course :-)), and I was extremely happy with what I learned in Lampworking class and that I was able to be creative with and make my own mark on the beads I made. I will definitely be making more glass beads in the future!


Leave a Reply

